Welcome To My Comfy Cozy World……

Personal Pride

Posted on: October 23, 2010


I will never forget when I graduated college and got my first job.  It was as a home energy surveyer where I had to go into homes and show customers how to save energy.  Most of the day was spent driving around in my car and very little time in an office.  My car became my office.

I had a mentor at the time who told me one thing I will never forget. She told me that since my car was my office I had to take some personal pride in it and make sure that it was presentable to customers.  Wanting to do a good job I complied and I have always treated my car in that manner even when I eventually moved onto another job and no longer worked out of my car.

One of the reasons why I am organized is because, for me, it gives me a great sense of pride to look at my belongings whether it is my home, my office, or my car and see that they are being well cared for, clean, and tidy.  It sends a statement not only to myself but to others who live with me or who come to visit.  My personal pride is what drives me not the need to be some sort of perfect, super, eighth wonder of the world. I don’t organize and keep tidy because I want to impress others and I don’t judge others to live to my personal standards.  I just like the way my house looks when it is clean. 

The best aspect about being organized is that I have a better chance of not losing things when I know where they are or when they are in their designated places.  If putting stuff in their place helps save me 1 minute or 1 second of my time in the future then it is worth the time I take to create the designated space to begin with.  It’s definitely easier to throw my mail in a big pile and then deal with it later but then I might miss a bill I need to pay or a paper I need to address.  I don’t like that feeling of thinking I am missing a deadline or forgetting a child’s event because I procrastinated and didn’t take care of it or put in on my calendar.

I can’t speak for everyone who is super organized.  I can only speak for myself.  For example,  I don’t spend lots of time doing laundry.  The reason why is because every time I do laundry I think of a way to shave off time and then I try to make the process more efficient.  Because if I am inefficient I waste time and I have precious little time to waste on laborious tasks. I would rather spend my leisure time with my kids or laying by the pool not searching for my keys or the unpaid bills or doing piles of laundry.

Yes some of my thinking came from the way I was raised. I tended to be a kid who tried to find a solution t0 every problem.  I even went on to get an engineering degree where I learned how to be a professional problem solver and thinker.  All of the jobs that I have ever had have been centered around making something more efficient whether it was a process or a project or something like that.

I guess you would say I was meant to be organized.  And I can tell you for a fact that my husband likes that I am.

Leave a Reply

Join me!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

My Brood

