Welcome To My Comfy Cozy World……

Organizing A High School Senior

Posted on: October 4, 2010


Geez..it’s been a while since I have blogged, hasn’t it?  I have been so completely busy these past several weeks in my personal life that I am afraid that other things like blogging had to be put on hold.  But I am back and ready to share some experiences with you all.

One of the reasons I have been gone for a while is that fact that my oldest son is in his senior year of high school.  I guess I realized somewhere in the back of my head that this would be the year that activities would really ramp up like applying to college, graduation requirements, etc. but I never really knew it would be to the level that it is.  After all when I went to college the application process was fairly easy.  There was no internet so everything was done by paper and through the mail. 

In fact the college application process can get very confusing. Thank goodness the Catholic school that my kids go to have a really wonderful college placement office that is willing to help you every step of the way.  Last Spring I attended their Spring Workshop for Junior students so I could find out all that we would need to do in the senior year. Even with that workshop I still had lots of questions and since the process really doesn’t get into full swing until the senior year starts I figured I would make an appointment with the college placement counselor in September.

I met with her and she helped to answer any left over questions I had. Good thing I am organized because I don’t know how you do it if you are not.  I wrote everything down and organized the tasks that need to get done in a calendar form.  There are SATs and ACTs still left to take, online applications to submit, essays to write, etc etc.  I have all of my checklists done so I don’t forget anything.

But this is just the beginning.  Senior year is where it all seems to happen not just in school but in extracurricular.  Graduation planning, homecoming dance, sports schedules, etc.  What would I do if I didn’t have organizing tools in my belt?  Thank goodness that I do.

2 Responses to "Organizing A High School Senior"

I’m much the same way as far as organization goes. My daughter is a freshman and it’s very difficult for me to stand back & let her make her own mistakes, especially since organization isn’t one of her strong points.

How do you find a happy medium between micromanaging and turning a high schooler loose entirely?

Hi Candy. Thank you for your comment. I have two high school boys and I can say that the most frustrating thing for me has always been to see how disorganized they are. I always thought that perhaps by my showing them an example of how being organized can be an advantage unfortunately my senior is not anything like this. So I am not sure I am fully qualified to answer your question or give expert advise but I would say that you can’t totally give up on them but at the same time you have to also give up the notion that kids will be as advanced in maturity as we are to see the bigger picture. Remember, we are wiser from experience but they don’t get it just yet. It’s not easy. We know what the outcomes of their mistakes will be but they don’t. Continue to offer suggestions on how to be organized and keep laying the ground rules on what you will accept. Hopefully they will come to middle somewhere in there. Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

Join me!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

My Brood

