Welcome To My Comfy Cozy World……

Good Morning

Posted on: July 15, 2010


I used to struggle every morning dragging myself out of bed, rushing to get myself ready, and struggling to get breakfast on the table for my kids.  Every morning was chaotic. I was running around the house with wet hair and half of my face made up for work.  I would run to the pantry and have to get a bunch of different cereals because the kids like different kinds.  I would look for bowls only to realize that the dishwasher load didn’t run last night which means I had to take time and wash a few dishes for the breakfast cereal.  Kids shoes and backpacks would go missing.  It was crazy.

So one day I did something that I usually do when chaos seems never ending.  I take a step back.  I look at the situation and I really study it.  What am I doing wrong?  How can I survive like this?  How can I make it BETTER??  There is a way.  I know it.  I can figure this out.  I have an engineering degree, after all.

I reviewed my morning ritual.  Most of it revolves around looking for stuff whether it is breakfast bowls, cups, sneakers, or backpacks.  I decided that instead of looking for those things in the morning when my time was the most precious, I would look for those things the night before and put it all out on the counter in the kitchen the night before when I did have a few minutes to spare.  Lunches get made the night before and put into the refrigerator.

So I put it all out.  Cereal containers, bowls, spoons, cups, backpacks, lunchboxes, sneakers, my purse, car keys, and my laptop bag.  With the exception of food from the refrigerator it is all there waiting for me the next morning.

The first day was like heaven.  No rushing around.  When my kids and I woke up, I leisurely walked into the kitchen, got the milk from the refrigerator and everything was all right there on the counter waiting for me.  No rushing at all.

I have been doing mornings like this for the past several months and it’s been the best morning move I have made.  What I have learned from this is that if I can shave off minutes or even seconds from my routine to make things run smoother it is so worth it in the end. 

Do you know of any opportunities in your own life to make improvements such as this?  What are they?

Leave a Reply

Join me!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

My Brood

