Welcome To My Comfy Cozy World……

Stop Wasting Time

Posted on: July 7, 2010


It’s so funny. I think about organizing almost every minute of the day.  Not necessarily because I am a schizo even though sometimes I think I am but it’s because it’s in my blood to always find a better way or an easier way or a more efficient way.

So many people say to me that I make organizing look easy.   They don’t understand how I can seem to get most things done on days where time is not a luxury. 

The truth of the matter though is that I get more done in less time than vice versa.  People always give me blank stares when I tell them that and the reason is because I don’t like to be a slave to the grind and I like to have free time to sit down and blog or exercise or watch reality TV or take my kids to get their favorite ice cream.

I love to have spare time and while most of us think we don’t have much of it, we really do. We just don’t know it and don’t realize how to find it.  Most of us have truly lost it.

So you might be asking “ok, how do I find more time?”  and the easy answer is to watch what you do, how you do it, when you do it, and what obstacles are lying in your way. 

Do you spend countless hours, minutes, or seconds searching for things that you would not be searching for if you had just put it away in the correct spot the first time?  Do you even have a correct spot for such items?  If not, maybe you need to find one.  (Car keys comes to mind here).

Do you spend hours slaving over baskets of laundry without a really efficient system in place to conquer it all within a short period of time?  If yes, there is a future post I am going to write about how to conquer laundry. (Hint:  I don’t own a laundry basket – never have and never will).

Do you wake up in the morning and drag yourself through the house struggling to get yourself and your kids ready for school and work and when you finally get out of the house you were too busy to even eat a suitable breakfast?

And did you answer yes to any of those questions or questions just like those?  If so, you CAN conquer these battles.  You just have to step back and look at what you are doing and how you are doing it.  You have to plan better, think ahead better, and make changes to your habits better. 

Go through the motions of a chore today whether it is getting ready for work or making dinner for the family or doing laundry.  Think of ways you can save time or do something ahead of time or stop wasting time.  You might be surprised what you will find if you look hard enough.

What tasks do you consider real time consuming or time wasting tasks and why?

Leave a Reply

Join me!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

My Brood

