Welcome To My Comfy Cozy World……

Efficient Laundry Doing

Posted on: March 20, 2010


After 17 years of being a mom, I believe I have mastered the art of doing laundry which is probably why it is one of my most favorite chores.  It’s one of those chores that you cannot put off till tomorrow because if you do we all might be walking around naked.  So I decided that instead of fighting that fate I would just try to make the most of it.  Hence, my quick and easy method for doing the laundry.  It goes something like this:

First I get my kids to gather the hampers from around the house. Yes I even have the little ones do this part because it is easy and also because I believe that this should be a part of the kids chores.

Second, right at the washer I sort between darks and whites.  It doesn’t matter to me which pile goes in first.  The washing machine gets turned on and I go about my business. I am lucky because my washer has a beeper on it that tells me when it’s done.  I then empty the washer into the dryer and immediately start my second load of washing.  (Always check the dryer lint filter as a full one always makes the dryer work harder).  My dryer also has a beeper when the clothes are done.  When I hear the dryer beeper, the first load is done.  Here is where it gets efficient.

When the first load is finished drying, I immediately sort and fold right at the dryer.  I do not put the clothes back into the hamper for folding at a later time.  The reason I don’t do that is because a) if you let the clothes sit in a hamper for any length of time, they get wrinkled and need to be ironed (unless you like to look like a wrinkled prune!) and b) it’s too easy to walk away and procrastinate.  The concept is rather quite simple.  As I pull the clothing one by one out of the dryer immediately they go into piles on the floor…a pile for Daddy, a pile for each kid, and a pile for me.  When the piles on the floor are done, I pick up one pile at a time and put it on the dryer and fold right then and there.  When the first pile is done I start the second pile until all of the piles are done.  Then each child (except for the littlest one) is responsible to take his/her pile and put it away.

By the time this first load of sorting, piling and folding is done the second load in the washer should be ready to go into the dryer.  You repeat this until all of the clothes are folded.

This method may not work for everyone but it sure works for me.  I have been doing my laundry this way for a few years now and have never been backed up on laundry in any of its stages.  And everyone is happy. They don’t have to run around naked.

Leave a Reply

Join me!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

My Brood

