Welcome To My Comfy Cozy World……

I Don’t Have Much Willpower…

Posted on: March 15, 2010


that’s the point. I have always had a weak spot for the unhealthy stuff like brownies, cookies, candy, french fries, diet soda.  Fortunately I  had other good things working in my favor.  I was either young, thin, had good metabolism, exercised or been depressed enough that  eating that way didn’t pack on the pounds.

So many of my family and friends have made very supportive comments and some have asked me questions asking how I do this eat clean thing.  I figured I would list all of the things that I am doing  to eat cleaner and old habits I needed to change.

1.  I bought a cheap soft lunch box cooler from CVS with a freeze pack.

2.  At 7 am, I used to eat a peanut butter sandwich on wheat toast and pick up a diet soda on the way to work.  Now I eat a cup of cooked oatmeal with berries, flaxseed, cinnamon and a glass of water. A hard boiled egg without the yoke too. 

3.  At 10 am, I used to either go for a starbucks run (we have one across the street from my work) and get a skim milk hot chocolate and croissant roll or hit the vending machine for a bag of pretzels or peanuts.  Now I dig into my lunchbox and grab an apple and my natural peanut butter and eat the apple and 2 tablespoons of peanut butter at my desk.  Water to drink.

4.  At lunchtime which was usually around noon if I wasn’t good enough to bring an egg salad sandwich with mayo and chips, I usually would run some personal errands and hit the McDonalds.  I felt at least a little bit comforted that I got one of the better menu options which was a grilled chicken sandwich with no mayo, no fries, and a medium diet soda.  Now I eat lunch at 1 pm and I will pack some sort of protein with a bunch of carbs like lentil rice with veggies, leftover turkey burger on grain toast with veggies, two hard boiled eggs with veggies, and much more.  Water to drink.

5.  Somewhere around 3-4 is where things would start to fall apart.  By that I mean I would get really hungry, tired, and looking for something sweet.  I would head back to the snack machine for cookies or MMs or diet soda to help pick me up.  Now at 4 pm, I get a pear from my cooler and either a hard boiled egg or 2 tablespoons of natural peanut butter.  Water to drink.

6.  Usually by dinner I was starving again even though I ate some cookies just an hour before.  I usually would make a nice dinner because it was for my family…some sort of protein, rice/potato/pasta, and vegetable.  I would usually have at least two servings of each.  Now I make similar dinners except I eat one serving of the protein, none of the carbs and one to two servings of the vegetable.  I might also add a dinner salad (a little lettuce, cucumber, tomato, onion with balsamic vinegar).  Water to drink.

7.  A few hours later I sometimes would eat a chocolate something or other whether it was a brownie, cookies or ice cream.  Now if I feel I want to have some chocolate I have a handful of dark chocolate (70% cocoa) chips.

8.  I did not do vitamins before.  Now I do supplements – multivitamin and calcium with D.

I am sure you can see the difference in what I was eating before and what I am eating now.  I just believe that it doesn’t take a lot of willpower because I am still eating plenty of food.  It’s just the right types of foods that take longer to digest thus fill my stomach longer. They are also foods that don’t have simple sugars in them so I don’t get energy spikes during the day.  I am getting more fiber which I know will help me in the long run. Because of my planned vegetable consumption I have been forced to eat more and different types of vegetables such as beets, greens, tomatos, broccoli, cauliflower, etc etc.

You can also see that I am not eating anything strange or out of reach or terribly expensive.  My food bill has not gone up since eating better…in fact it’s improved because I no longer buy processed meals or McDonalds for lunch.  No more diet soda and no more starbucks. 

So what do you think?  If you have any comments or questions please ask me. I would love to hear from you.

2 Responses to "I Don’t Have Much Willpower…"

Sounds great! I’ve been eating alot of apples with almond butter and cinnamon (sprinkled with a handful of crushed walnuts) bananas, avacados, quinoa, tomatoes, eggs and spinach w/ cooked chicken and sunflower seeds. It’s amazing how much better I feel and how much I can eat (and how frequently!) I have a major sugar/carb addiction that I’m trying to break. Oh, I still have coffee but use coconut milk (a brand called So Delicious) and it’s wonderful! Love your blog:)

Thanks Mindy! Sounds like you are doing great. I am the same way…amazed at how full I feel eating the right foods…I bought quinoa but have not tried it yet….looking forward to it though. Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

Join me!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

My Brood

