Welcome To My Comfy Cozy World……

Moms Can’t Live Without A Crockpot

Posted on: March 14, 2010


I used to hate crockpots.  They freaked me out.  It’s just something about turning on a cooking appliance and leaving it on for the whole day unattended.  The thought just makes me cringe.  I keep imaging the worst that could happen.  But if I could only get past this fear I am sure that the crockpot could make my life very easy.

So I decided to get one and in order to release my fear of it, I would cook with it but not leave the house.  This experiment had to be done on a weekend of course where I would have 6 hours to be tied to the house.  I decided to cook something fairly simple…I think it was a chicken stew with potatoes, celery, carrots, and onions.  Needless to say the entire cooking process went smoothly and the meal turned out delicious.   As the day wore on, I kept standing over the pot waiting for it to explode.  Of course if it did how bright would I be for being the one who stood directly over it.  Still, I kept touching the sides seeing if it was really safe inside that metal casing.  All was fine and my fear was gone.

Yummy Beef Stew

I now use my crockpot for so many things that I cannot imagine how I got along without it.  Some of the more common menus I cook in it are sauce and meatballs, beef stew, soup, chicken and dumplings, and other assorted chicken dishes.    You can even google crockpot recipes and find just about any recipe under the sun.

Do you use a crockpot?  Did you have the same fear as me?  How has crockpot cooking helped you in your busy life?  Share your thoughts with me here!

2 Responses to "Moms Can’t Live Without A Crockpot"

OMG this so cracked me up! I grew up with a mom that used crock pots (and pressure cookers — now you want something to freak you out wait until one of THOSE explodes! WHAT A MESS!) and I love them!

I love that I can put in a FROZEN roast with a bottle of Italian dressing, a package of Italian dressing and a package of au jus sauce mix and turn it on and leave it for the entire day…come home that night and we’ve got shredded Italian roast beef sandwiches ready to pile on some whole wheat buns and top with mozzarella cheese! YUM-O!

That, and the ENTIRE HOUSE smells like YOU spent all day making it!

April, my mom used to make stew with a pressure cooker and every time she used it, she would cringe and say “I hope this works right”..Yeah way to calm my fears Mom!….and those pressure cookers used to have that thing on top that sounded like a bomb clock…tick tick tick tick….horrid! nothing like a big metal pot filled with water pressure to scare the crap out of a kid….well anyway I love my crock…Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

Join me!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

My Brood

