Welcome To My Comfy Cozy World……

What Are Your Excuses?

Posted on: March 5, 2010


I was talking to a friend of mine the other day and we were on the subject of decluttering.  Surprise, Surprise.

I asked her what she felt was the reason why she was letting the clutter in this one particular space remain.  Much of the answer revolved around “I may need this piece of paper someday”.  Interestingly in my informal poll amongst my friends I have found that most of the time people don’t throw needless stuff away because they fear they may need it one day.  I even knew of a person who had moved to a new home.  There were a couple of boxes marked “Very Important”.  Those boxes made it to the attic in the new house.  Several years later those boxes were still there and sealed.  I wonder how important the very important stuff was.

There are a couple of exceptions to this line of thinking.  The first is seasonal stuff.   That’s obvious.  The other exception is treasures, family  heirlooms, and momentos.  Naturally there are some things in your life that you want and should keep.  Things like photos, albums, scrapbooks, your baptism gown that your grandmother made by hand.  Of course all this should be kept and passed on to the next generation.

But take a look at everything you have in your “very important” boxes and determine if you REALLY need to keep this stuff.  Was the stuff that you thought was important 10 years ago still important today?

Leave a Reply

Join me!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

My Brood

